Out Of My Comfort Zone

My friend, Jocelyn Ruggerio writes a food blog called Foodie Fatale.  We’d been trying to get together so I could shoot something she was doing for awhile since we met.  We finally set up a project we were both comfortable with:

Shooting at Bauer Park.

For those of you who don’t know, I’m a photographer and I shoot mostly Connecticut landscape and nature photography.  Bauer Park is one of my favorite places to shoot.  Our project was to photograph Maple Sugaring at Bauer last Friday.  The weather refused to cooperate.  In Connecticut the rain spoiled all out door activities.  So when Jocelyn realized the rain was heading our way; on Thursday, she scrambled, looking for something else for us to shoot.  She called me Thursday afternoon to say she had secured a wine tasting at Quattros, a restaurant in Guilford, Connecticut.  Having seen my photography, Jocelyn realized that most of my work consisted of outdoor landscapes.  She asked how I was shooting indoors.

It’s not normally what I do, because I don’t think I’m as proficient shooting inside as outside.  But you know what?  We’d already made plans and I didn’t want to let Jocelyn down.  I agreed to shoot the event because sometimes it is good to step outside your comfort zone.  If you never stretch yourself, and reach beyond your potential, you’ll stagnate.  You’ll never move forward.  Life is about moving forward.  When the shoot was done I think we were all pleased with the results.  I know I was.

I was pleased because I did something I don’t normally feel comfortable doing.  And you know what?  The world didn’t end.  The next time someone asks you to do something that isn’t in your natural repertoire, think twice before saying no.  Saying yes could put you in the right place at the right time.

Be Happy!  Be Well!  Be Positive!

Chris

2 responses to “Out Of My Comfort Zone

  1. >What a great message! I enjoyed reading this post, it was my first time visiting your blog. Thank you for leaving your comment on mine earlier, glad you seemed to like it :)I think for us all to reach our full potentials in life that stretching and even breaking down our comfort zones are necessary. It's not always easy, but necessary.Can't wait to read more here! 🙂

  2. >Good point, Stepping out of your comfort zone can be a path to growth.One thing as feedback for your blog Chris. I notice when I leave this comment, I can not see the original post, it takes me to a page where I just see the comment I'm writing. Which makes it difficult to refer and reply to original statements. Just some friendly feedback for a fellow Facebook CT blogger group member. Keep the posts coming!

Leave a Reply

