Common Prayer

Similarly, large communities or congregations often find miracle-producing power in combined thinking (or what some people call common prayer.)

Book One
Page 55

Been reading spiritual books lately and I find that I’m getting closer to my soul as a result.  Read Hermann Hesse’s Siddhartha last week.  WOW!  What a book.  Reminiscent of Paulo Coelo’s The Alchemist, in that protagonists are searching for bliss.  Surprisingly if ONLY to me, I found Siddhartha to be the better book.  Both books should be on every one’s list if they’re seeking enlightenment.

After reading Siddhartha, I have now picked up Neale Donald Walsch’s:
Conversations With God

I’ve seen the above quote at work many times over.  Most recently, a friend of mine went in for back surgery and it was discussed before hand with a group of my friends that at the hour that surgery was about to begin, we would all say a blessing that the surgery would be a success.

At the appointed hour we all stopped what we were doing and sent our positive blessing.  Once our friend was in recovery, the surgeon said he’d never seen a surgery go so well.  In a shorter time then anyone thought possible the patient was up and walking; once more surprising his surgeon.

Combined thought, combined prayer whatever you want to call it DOES work as is seen by the above example.  There is power in groups.  Remember that!

Be Happy!  Be well!  Be Positive!

Chris

6 responses to “Common Prayer

  1. >I agree! I have seen tremendous things happen within the power of prayer, especially when involving groups. Prayer is very powerful if you have faith in prayer:)

  2. >i've read the alchemist…and have yet to read the other books you've suggested… anyhow, i believe in the power of prayers… i'm in the medical field, and we don't exclude the power of prayers in one's healing…i personally believe in miracles…

  3. >I have to agree hands down. And, I have read all the three books you have mentioned and found them very helpful in my life. Prayers do have the power. We only need to believe and ask.Miracles do happen.Joy always,Susan

  4. >This reminds me of the time my brother lay on his deathbed after suffering a massive heart attack. The doctors at the hospital had basically given up on him. One morning a flash of inspiration hit: communion. I called two friends of mine, one a girlfriend, the other a priest friend. The three of us prayed and served the bread and wine around his bedside. Not many days hence he was transferred elsewhere for surgery. Then he returned home safe and sound.

  5. >Wow, Debra. That's an AMAZING story and just proves all over again that your faith and prayer DOES work miracles.

  6. >The year my big brother was 16, he discovered Siddartha, and gave a copy to each of this friends for Christmas. It's that powerful. I'm thinking it's time to reread it. I'll have to check out the other books, too. I've never read Conversations with God, in part because I didn't want it to possibly affect my own similar work. I'm less concerned about that now, for some reason. I've heard, and it makes sense to me, that it isn't a straight multiplier at work when a larger group gathers in prayer, but more like an exponent. This makes sense to me.Blessings,Oreahttp://orea-highervoice.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

