The Soul’s Purpose

The soul is very clear that its purpose is evolution.  That is its sole purpose and its soul purpose.  It’s not concerned with achievement of the body or achievement of the mind.  These are all meaningless to the soul.

Book One
Page 82

If you truly believe Neale Donald Walsch had a divine experience when he wrote Conversations With God, the above statement seems to to point to reincarnation as a plausible solution.  After all how does one evolve if not through learning to do something over and over?  There are more references to reincarnation after page 82 in this book as well.

As I’ve said here multiple times, there is NO doubt in my mind that we all come back.  It’s one of the reasons I rail a bit against religion sometimes.  Being spiritual and being religious are two entirely separate entities for me.  In my mind, being religious is tied to dogma.  You MUST believe what we (fill in your religion) believe.

Being spiritual is more open.  It’s why I’m not affiliated with any particular denomination.  Being spiritual allows you to pick and choose from a variety of religious beliefs and meld them into your own system.  Did you know that reincarnation was once in the Bible?  It was removed during The Council of Nicea in AD 325.  That is further proof that religion is the issue here.  If reincarnation existed in the bible, then what right does man have to remove it?

No matter, it is what I believe.  What do you believe?

Be Happy!  Be Well!  Be Positive!
Blessings to you all!

Chris

7 responses to “The Soul’s Purpose

  1. >Interesting thoughts! I actually have a copy of Conversations with God..starting reading it once then got distracted..I really liked it though, you are inspiring me to return back to it :)I can see your angst against dogma..nobody likes to be told what to believe..me included. I'm a Christian, but my views do differ from those Christians around me and sometimes even those of my church…and sometimes that does cause some conflict…but I believe it's important to stay true to oneself, for we are all accountable and responsible for our own journeys, not other people's. I disagree with the spirituality v. religion…I believe that one who ascribes to a particular religion can have a great amount of spirituality, though many times, when we are stuck on dogma it becomes an adherence to a set sort of rules and nothing else..dry and empty of spiritual experience. Taking my religion, for example, there are rich examples of spirituality and those who have encountered an inernal awareness of the divine within (spiritual experience). It isn't always encouraged in all christian circles, and sometimes to pursue such a path sets you apart from others, but it is possible. Is religion necessary to experience the divine, can one exist on the spiritual alone and gain eternal truths and insights that way? I believe so :)Interesting concept regarding reincarnation…I'm not too familiar with all of that..but it gives me something to reflect on this morning :)Sorry for the long reply…~peace

  2. >Long comment? LoLHave you seen some of mine in the blogs I've been following? This is short in comparison!Thank you SOOOO much for inviting me to join these three blogger groups. I've found so many new blogs to follow now.

  3. >Christopher, I believe Jessica said it all quite well so there's no need to repeat it. What I will add is that I'm not so sure about reincarnation. If it is plausible, I want it known now that I don't really care to return. I am living the life now that I believe that God intended for me to live. When it is done, then it should be done:) For me, anyhow.

  4. >I'm so glad that you enjoy the groups Christopher! We are all lucky to have you with us..I find your blog really thought provoking. It's great to connect with other bloggers..it's like a big community in a way…:)

  5. >Chris,I love it. I find the dogma of religion to be prohibitive to spirituality often. I really like your blog. I cover spirituality at my job when I do group therapy. I am often asked the definition of spirituality and don't ever feel like I have a good one. I was wondering if you would mind sharing your definition of spirituality. Thanks, Tim

  6. >Wow, Tim:I'm flattered that you'd like to use my definition. Thanks for asking! Of course you can!

  7. >Chris, great post. I have told my daughter who struggles with this often, She keeps saying I am not religious, but I believe. I think she takes pieces from here and there and uses them. So she is spiritual but I wouldn't consider her religious. Thanks for coming by my blog and commenting. Welcome to the group as well!! http://scattermusings.blogspot.com/2011/04/darn-diet-donut-disco-dancing-duck.html

Leave a Reply

