Bloglings

You can’t live a Christian life without a band of Christian friends.  C.S. Lewis was part of a famous circle of friends called The Inklings which included J.R.R Tolkien and also the author Charles Williams who died unexpectedly after World War II.  In his book:
The Four Loves, Lewis wrote a striking meditation on Williams death in en essay entitled:
Friendship
In each of my friends there is something that only some other friend can fully bring out.  By myself I am not large enough to call the whole man into activity; I want other lights than my own to show all his faces.  Now that Charles [Williams] is dead, I shall never again see Ronald’s [Tolkien’s] reaction to a specifically Charles joke.  Far from having more of Ronald, having him to myself now that Charles is away, I have less of Ronald.
Lewis is saying that it took a community to know an individual.  Christians commonly say, they want a relationship with Jesus.  You’ll never be able to do that by yourself.

I finished The Prodigal God about a month weeks ago now and I originally scheduled this entry to post a week after I finished, but I found other entries more compelling to write.  Sometimes, when it comes to writing whether I’m blogging or in my previous writing career when I was creating Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy I was guided to write what came to me.  I now understand, being steeped in the spiritual paradigm I’m in now that it was the Divine/Source/God/whatever you believe in that was guiding me.  I became thoroughly convinced of that when my blog took a complete left turn about three months after I began writing it.  The blog went from Law of Attraction to much more spiritually centered.  If that wasn’t the divine steering me, then I have no clue what it could have been.

Today I’m going to discuss the above quote.  While I don’t necessarily agree with the the last two lines here:
Lewis is saying that it took a community to know an individual.  Christians commonly say, they want a relationship with Jesus.  You’ll never be able to do that by yourself.

I WILL say that I’ve made a few new friends as a result of my blogging and these friends help motivate me even if they’re unaware that they are doing so.

Jessica Mokrzycki’s Ascending The HillsCarla Goddard’s Shaman Medicine Woman and Orea de Sa’Hana’s The Higher Voice are my band of “SPIRITUAL” friends that keep me focused, that keep my eyes on the prize.  I can count on these three friends to keep me centered, to keep me spiritually grounded.  They serve me in different ways.

Jessica, whether she knows it or not, has given me a deeper sense of faith.  She’s gotten me to read some books I probably would never have picked up in the past.  The Prodigal God, my inspiration for this blog post is one such book.  I don’t THINK it came DIRECTLY from Jessica but now simply reading her blog has awakened something inside of me and I’m more aware of Christian books now.

is another book that I recently read and I don’t think it would have crossed my radar were it not for my association with Jessica.
Carla and I are on similar paths.  I’ve mentioned her here many times as well.  We seem to be simpatico more often then any of my other blogger friends.  Where Jessica seems to concentrate more on the Christian Faith, Carla is more spiritual, speaking more of the divine in a spiritual sense.

Orea seems to skirt both dimensions, keeping one foot firmly in the spiritual non religious realm while at the same time also walking the religious field.

The Power of Three.  My three compatriots in the blogging world that serve as my circle of blogging friends, my bloglings so to speak.

While I don’t necessarily agree that one can’t have a relationship with Jesus/God/The Divine alone it certainly does help to have others who are of the same spiritual mind.  So thank you to my bloglings for keeping me on my path.

Be Happy!  Be Well!  Be Positive
Blessings to you.

Chris

One response to “Bloglings

  1. I am so touched by this post Christopher! I feel very blessed to have gotten to know you over the past few months and have found your blog thought provoking and inspiring. I feel blessed and touched by your kind and heartfelt words. I love your how your journey has caused you to dig deep and I hope to continue to share our journeys together, as we grow, seek and explore the Divine within and all around us. I do think we all have something to share with one another and I look forward to both sharing and receiving from you, as you do with me. I love how you described everybody, how everybody has a different perspective and angle, thus offering different bits of truths and insights. It’s the stuff that makes living life rich 🙂
    ~blessings

Leave a comment