Success Comes From Helping Others

A bit of a follow up from last Friday’s column:
Defining Success:
It is literally true that you can succeed best and quickest by helping others to succeed.

Napoleon Hill


Ask any of my friends and I bet you’ll get the same answer.  That I get more excited when someone else succeeds than when I do.  I derive more joy in helping others and watching their lives improve. Over twenty years ago when I started my writer’s group with my friend, Jason I became more excited when others in my group found success.  Yeah I was happy when I published as well; but I was more joyful when  others reached their goals  See?  I followed this law even before I was aware of it.

I never expect anything in return when I reach out.
My friends always get the best from me. When a friend is in need I’ll do everything I can to be there. I’ll stop whatever it is that I’m doing if I can and I’ll be by your side, no questions asked.

Ask any of my friends and I bet you’ll get the same answer. That I’ll be there at the drop of a hat. Call me.  Tell me you need something and I’ll do my best to be there.   See?  I understand more about life, more about spirituality, more about faith now than I did while growing up.  I know now that what I give to someone will return to me when I need. That’s why I won’t take a reward from the person I’m helping. It’s for the very reason of the quote:
“It is literally true that you can succeed best and quickest by helping others to succeed.”

My life will improve exponentially by helping someone else succeed.

What have you done to help others?
When you reach out do you expect a reward?
If you do you’re living life backwards.
The ONLY way to reward, the ONLY way to success is by helping others reach their goals.

Remember that.  Don’t just remember it; put into practice on a daily basis and your life will improve.

Be Happy!  Be Well!  Be Positive!
Blessings to you.

Chris

9 responses to “Success Comes From Helping Others

  1. Amen, Chris! This so reminds me of what Jesus said and I paraphrase – When a person asks you to walk one mile with him, go the second, too. Never stop reaching out and helping others, supporting and encouraging them. It’s what true living is all about.
    Thanks for the inspiration, my friend!

  2. I don’t know, Chris . .you just might be on to something here. :-))

    Definitely words of wisdom, and a great personal creed. Wishing you all the best, my friend!

  3. Chris, in the short time that I have known you and seen you in action at the library I am so amazed on how you so wonderfully help others with such passion. You where an angel when I broke my leg. You where such a blessing for me and my family. I see by your actions that you live by this quote. Nice post!!

  4. I don’t know, Chris . .you may be on to something here. 🙂

    Definitely words of wisdom, and a great creed to live by. Wishing you all the best, my friend.

  5. Awesome goal, beautiful idea. Have you ever struggled with it, though? Given so much that you have maybe neglected yourself and possibly found friends who gladly take the help and support but are not there to reciprocate it?

    I love to help other people too, but I’ve certainly fallen into burn out now and then.

    • Hi Maureen:
      So glad you decided to subscribe to my blog. Love reading what you have to say too. To answer your question:
      I no longer surround myself w/people who are not positive and self affirming. Besides, I REALLY don’t expect anything in return from the people I DO help.

      As I believe that no good deed goes unpunished. Somewhere down the road someone will give me a hand when I need it. It may NOT be the person I helped and it may NOT come wrapped in the same package. We have to be aware of the gifts that come our way. Unless you’re steeped in this paradigm, a gift may arrive and it will pass you by.

      Be aware. Take off your spiritual blinders and you’ll see the world in a COMPLETELY DIFFERENT way.

      Chris

  6. Great column, Chris! Thanks for sharing it! =)

Leave a Reply

