My! How Things Have Changed

I’ve written here so many times about how my faith has changed in the past ten years, moving from a belief in my own God, keeping an open ongoing dialog with the divine and NEVER having ANY doubt that there was a Divinity that we could ALL tap into if we only released our doubts and listened for HIS answers.  The answers are ALL around us in messages cloaked in coincidences that don’t exist.

Within the past few years, my faith has deepened further to the point where it’s become such a part of me that it’s part of the very fabric of my life. I haven’t arrived at the point yet where I can discuss what I believe verbally with just anyone. I’m not quite comfortable doing that just yet. I DO believe that faith is EXTREMELY personal and should ONLY be discussed if someone asks what you believe.

You’re probably asking then how writing this blog is any different.  Right?  Well my interpretation of that query is that I’m not addressing ANY ONE particular person and if someone doesn’t appreciate what I’m writing they can simply stop reading and I’ll never be the wiser.  Whereas if I’m face to face with someone and am discussing my paradigm, it would be much more challenging to turn away.

So why am I returning to this theme again today?  That’s easy.  I’m in the middle of a book called Christianity after Religion and the book is bringing up some very strong emotions.  My long time readers should be aware that I often find quotes from various sources to use as grist for my own mill.  (Thanks, JM.). One of the passages from Christianity after Religion that stands out for me is:
Unlike religion as system of belief, religio meant faith— living, subjective experience including love, veneration, devotion, awe, worship, transcendence, trust, a way of life, an attitude toward the divine or nature, or, as Smith describes, a ‘particular way of seeing and feeling the world.’ Accordingly, ‘the archaic meaning of religio [w]as that awe that men felt in the presence of an uncanny and dreadful power of the unknown…. That religio is something within men’s hearts.’

I SINCERELY believe this is what is challenging about today’s organized religion. Organized religion has lost its way and is clinging to its past ideals.
It is NOT welcoming.
It is NOT nurturing.
It is NOT practicing what Jesus taught, that inclusion is what succeeds, that love is what succeeds.

We should be finding our similarities.
We should be be loving everyone despite their challenges, despite what SOME may view as sinful.  How can humanity have ANY grasp on what God sees as sinful?  EVERYTHING is up for interpretation.  It’s why as this book points out that so many people are leaving organized religion and finding their own way.  It’s why I have NEVER been interested in religion.  That doesn’t mean in ANY way WHATSOEVER that I’m not a person of faith.  I think like many people I’m full of faith.  Now this may come across as as crass, blasphemous or full of ego and let me put any of that to rest IMMEDIATELY.  I’m sure there are people who will agree with me but may be fearful of putting words to it but I even feel that I am more faithful than SOME who attend organized religion.  ONLY because I have an ongoing dialog, an ongoing relationship with my GOD as I interpret him to be.  Some in organized religion view God as vengeful, exclusionary.  Some in organized religion attend weekly service and feel that is the ONLY time they can devote to THEIR God.

That’s what I find disconcerting about religion. That and the fact that religion is exclusionary.  I find it particularly challenging when a church that is supposed to be practicing love, that is supposed to be practicing empathy excludes a whole segment of society because that segment is different from them. What right does religion have to deny someone basic human rights?  Not necessarily what right, but HOW can an organization that professes to practice love and inclusion be so unaware that they are not practicing what they preach?

You can see how my indignation has reared its ugly head in the way my tone has shifted in the last few paragraphs.  I become a different person in the face of exclusionary practices of an organization that SHOULD be anything BUT exclusionary.

Am I the only one that feels this way?  Would love to hear your comments in the comment field below.

Be Happy!  Be Well!  Be Positive!
Blessings to you.

Chris

7 responses to “My! How Things Have Changed

  1. Way to go, Chris! Wow!

  2. Chris, our pastor spoke about the dangers of thinking the church is somehow OUR church when it is the Lord’s. We have no right to exclude anyone, nor should we do anything but greet and welcome them in love, no matter how they look or dress. I feel fortunate to belong to such a Christian community as this one, and I’m sad for the millions of other believers who don’t have this type of worship environment.
    Great post! Blessings!

    • Hi Martha:
      Thanks for stopping by today. As I said in my comment to Yvonne below and as I’ve ALWAYS maintained, my biggest challenge with organized religion on the whole is its exclusionary practices. The church is the one institution that SHOULD be all welcoming. Yet I’ve seen too many examples of its exclusions.

  3. Hi Chris:
    I commend you for having this type of discussion. One of the main reasons that I started my blog was because I felt excluded from my church community in a way like I had not felt before. I needed a place where my voice could be heard to share what was on my heart which quite frankly has nothing to do with the fact that I am a woman, or I dressed a particular way or sounded a particular way…my church community did not provide me with that platform, so I walked away from it and once I did, I felt freedom and liberty!!

    The spirit of religion and tradition I must add though are extremely dangerous to the church, more so the Christian community. Both deal a lot with exclusion, hence one of the major problems Jesus had with the pharasees and the saducees. They push away too many folks rather than accepting them. They are stuck on what the law says, forgetting that grace and truth came through Jesus Christ. The love is not all inclusive but selective….okay I am getting a bit passionate here and my comment is going to get lengthy if I don’t stop right here…Don’t be surprised though if I do a column on this on my blog. You have given me the inspiration to do so and I would really like to share more on this.

    Blessings and have a great day!! 🙂

    • Hi Yvonne:
      Thanks for stopping by today. So glad to see others who have the same belief that I do, the same feelings that I do. I think it’s so important to accept all regardless of their belief system regardless of their challenges. I find it so disconcerting when a community shuns a segment of humanity because they are different. The community doesn’t EVEN HAVE to be a religious one.

      I have such a hard time dealing with ignorance of ANY kind. Jesus accepted EVERYONE. Why can’t the Christian church? That’s my most difficult challenge I have with the church. I’d be MORE THAN happy for you to use my blog column today. Thank you for EVEN considering it!

      Chris

  4. Hi, Chris; I hope this finds you well and happy. I am going to resist going on one of my soapbox rants tonight, but you are spot on about organized religion. The saddest thing that has happened to me is to have found a church that will reject people based on their lack of income. Not overtly, of course (they wouldn’t quite dare that), but just by shutting the person out until he or she decides to leave.

    Not very welcoming to “the least of these.” is it?

  5. Pingback: Life Is Always Evolving « Wisdom and Life

Leave a comment