An Ongoing Connection

A soul mate is an ongoing connection with another individual that the soul picks up again in various times and places over lifetimes. We are attracted to another person at a soul level not because that person is our unique complement, but because by being with that individual, we are somehow provided with an impetus to become whole ourselves.

Edgar Cayce

I discovered Edgar Cayce many years ago by purchasing several of his books on reincarnation at a New Age (Boy how I dislike that word) store in Madison, Connecticut called Down to Earth.  The store has since closed, but it was a business I spent quality time at.

Soul mates.
Do they exist?
Is there one person for everyone?

I believe soul mates exist.  No surprise there, right?  But one soul mate for each of us?  That’s a more challenging concept for me.  Are soul mates supposed to be in love with with each other?  Not if you’ve read Journey of Souls.  Dr. Michael Newton who wrote Journey of Souls implied (at least in my opinion) that souls connect with each other on many levels.  Just as the quote above shows, souls can connect as family, as friends as business partners.

A soul mate however indicates a deeper connection.  In most people’s opinion, a soul mate implies a loving relationship.  Husband/wife, a close intimate relationship.  Could it be however, that soul mates may also be best friends.  Brian Weiss who wrote the book, Only Love is Real wrote in that book:
Sometimes soul mates decide not to get married.

That quote by Brian Weiss implies that not all soul-mates travel together as intimates, that they can certainly be best friends.  In Journey of Souls as well as many other resources I’ve seen it has been written that our soul mates in one incarnation may be a brother, a sister.  In another incarnation your soul mate may very well wind up as your husband or wife.

See?  Since as Journey of Souls indicates, we all travel in our individual soul groups and since those in our soul groups are so matched to us, it could be said that each of the souls in our group are soul mates.  I clearly understand, however, that the direct connotation of the word implies an intimate relationship.  But what is intimate?

Dictionary.com defines intimate as:
Characterized by a close or warm personal relationship.
I like the thought that Edgar Cayce puts forth here that:
We are attracted to another person at a soul level.

According to Edgar Cayce’s first sentence in this passage:
A soul mate is an ongoing connection with another individual that the soul picks up again in various times and places over lifetimes.  Cayce doesn’t appear to imply that soul mates are always intimate in the strictest sense of the word.  Before reading a plethora of books on the subject, I was of the understanding that the word soul mate indicated what many think, that it meant a loving intimate relationship.

After experiencing all that I have and researching the subject as much as I have I am now debating whether a soul mate must be an intimate?  Can your soul mate be your best friend?  I’d have to say yes.

What do you think?  Would love to hear from some of you in the comments below.

Take a look at Journey of Souls.
Read Brian Weiss.
Read some Edgar Cayce.

See if after doing your own research you arrive at a similar conclusion.

Be Happy!  Be Well!  Be Positive!
Blessings to you.

Chris

7 responses to “An Ongoing Connection

  1. I agree! Great read Chris.. 🙂

  2. Definitely, a soul mate could be anyone with whom one feels close and, I believe, understood deeply in ways which can’t be measured.
    Wonderful post, my friend!

    • Good Afternoon, Martha:
      Right there with you. My thought process on this theme has changed mightily in the past several years to the point now where I too believe that a soul mate can be anyone one fees an ongoing connection with.

      Thanks as always for your well thought out responses.

      Chris

  3. Really interesting post Chris! I’ve always heard “soul-mates” implied as referring to those who are meant romantically for one another…I like the idea that “souls connect with each other on many levels” and thus a soul mate could be meant to connect with another on a different level other than romance. I think that can definitely be true!

    Btw , kind of ironic…Just before I came here I checked my email and one of my friends had emailed me an “Edgar Cayce quote of the day”…I haven’t really heard about him before today and now twice..one page after another while online! Interesting! The quote was, btw, for whatever its worth:

    “There is today, every day, set before thee good and evil, life and death–choose thou. For only self can separate you from the love of the Father. For it should be manifested to thee that thou art conscious in a living world, aware of suffering, of sorrow, of joy, of pleasure. These, to be sure, are the price one pays for having will, knowledge. But let that knowledge be spent in a way and manner to help others. For as ye do to thy Maker.”

    Hope you’re having a good day. 🙂

    ~namaste~
    Jessica

  4. Hi Jessica:
    Just arrived home. Off to bed in a few as I’ve been getting up at 530 every morning to walk. As I mentioned in my response to Martha my opinion on soul mates has changed as I’ve grown. I’ve experienced many things during my latest incarnation and I’m surprised every time I have a new epiphany. After reading many books on the topic of past lives and the such I’ve come to the understanding that soul mates come in many shapes and sizes so to speak.

    So, yes I’m convinced that your soul mate in one incarnation could very well be your best friend, because in another incarnation either in the past or in the future they could be your romantic partner. You just have to remember that and you’ll find your joy.

    Chris

  5. Glad I read this. Over time, soul-mates have always been referred to in the context of romantic partners. It is only of late that I learnt that a soul-mate could be any individual of either sex without any romantic attachment. I enjoyed the quote that began this post and I should read more works of the author. Thanks, Chris for this very ‘soulful’ post.

    As a post-script, I would like to add that I haven’t yet found someone who I could call my soul-mate. I thought I had one but then it was not so.

    Joy always,
    Susan

  6. Hi Chris
    This I really enjoyed this articles. Great stuff you’ve shared. I could be wrong but a soul mate is not necessarily limited to a spouse. I believe yes that it is that deep connection (often lifelong) that you feel with another individual. It is also connected to I believe one’s spirituality.

    Blessings!

Leave a Reply

